Best Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe

This is my family’s chocolate chip cookie recipe-these are the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies in the World! (And I don’t think I’m being biased)

Fresh baked Chocolate Chip  Mini M&M Cookie

Fresh baked Chocolate Chip Mini M&M Cookies.

Chocolate Chip Cookies:

2/3 cup shortening

2/3 cup butter

1 cup white sugar

1 cup brown sugar (packed)

2 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

3 cups flour

1 teaspoon soda

1 teaspoon salt

1-12 oz bag chocolate chips (use only 1 cup if also adding 1 cup M&M’s or walnuts)

*1 cup seasonal colored M&M’s or mini M&M’s (optional)

**1 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Cream the shortening, butter, and both sugars. Then add the eggs, and vanilla. Add remaining ingredients. Mix in your chocolate chips-I like to use 1 cup (and an extra handful) of chocolate chips and 1 cup M&M’s that are colored for the nearest holiday. Another option I like is to use is 1 cup mini M&M’s with the chocolate chips (the mini M&M’s are really fun because they fit into every little nook and cranny of the cookie!) Drop by teaspoon full onto greased cookie sheets. I like to use my regular Pampered Chef cookie scoop to make the perfect sized cookies and to keep the dough off my fingers, so I am less likely to be tempted to eat some. Bake at 375 degrees F for 10-12 minutes. (Usually a full 9:30 to 10 minutes)

Make your Dessert & Eat it Too!

I love desserts & I love to bake! However, every time I make desserts, I then can tend to overindulge on the yumminess I just made. After eating too many cookies on a Saturday morning, I would be left feeling guilty and lethargic. To prevent this, a really helpful trick I learned on Pinterest is to lay out some wax paper on the counter on top of a small pan or large lid (anything that helps make it more portable). After making the dough, drop by teaspoon full onto the wax paper, then put it in the freezer for a few minutes so the balls of dough set-then put in a large freezer Ziploc bag & store in the freezer. This way you can have homemade fresh-baked chocolate chip cookies whenever you like! I like to put the name of the cookie, the temperature to bake it at (375) and the date. I also write 4 WW points on the bag to remind me, in case I feel like going crazy and eating more than I should. Then, in the morning, I just take out two of the frozen cookie dough balls (one for me & one for my husband) and put them in a sandwich size Ziploc in the fridge so they can defrost during the day. When I get home I take the cookies out of the fridge, pre-heat the oven and bake the cookies for about 10 minutes each. This gives me the best of both worlds! I get fresh baked homemade chocolate chip cookies, and I am not tempted by having all the cookies made at once which makes me feel like I need to hurry up and eat them before they go bad or before someone else eats them all. Hope this can help you to enjoy your desserts guilt free too! 🙂

4 WW Points each

Leave a comment