Grinch Cookies

I discovered Grinch Cookies on Pinterest but there was no recipe provided, so I used my regular chocolate chip cookie recipe and added some green food coloring and mint extract. I made these this December to go on cookie trays for my co-workers for Christmas. They turned out AMAZING! The light green color is so fun and the hint of mint tastes great with the chocolate chips. I am a big fan of these cookies and these will now be a Christmas staple in my home.

Grinch Cookies fresh out of the oven!

Grinch Cookies fresh out of the oven!

Grinch Cookies:

2/3 cup shortening

2/3 cup butter

1 cup white sugar

1 cup brown sugar (packed)

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

3 cups flour

1 teaspoon soda

1 teaspoon salt

Green food coloring (I used Wilton Kelly Green paste)-just enough to give it a pretty mint color, but not enough to make it look like toothpaste

1 & 1/4 teaspoons mint extract

1-12 oz bag chocolate chips

Cream the shortening, butter, and both sugars. Then add the eggs, and vanilla. Add remaining ingredients. When dough is complete, minus the chocolate chips, add your green food coloring so that you are able to fully see what the color will be since the flour is already added. This is also a good time to add the mint extract as all the other ingredients are already included, so you can get a good sense of the flavor. Mix in your chocolate chips. Drop by teaspoon full onto greased cookie sheets. I like to use my regular Pampered Chef cookie scoops to make the perfect sized cookies and to keep the dough off my fingers, so I am less likely to be tempted to eat some. Bake at 375 degrees F for 10-12 minutes. (Usually a full 9:30 to 10 minutes)

4 WW Points each

Leave a Reply

