Chicken & Cheese Stuffed Shells

In depth view of the tasty filling! So good!

In depth view of the tasty filling! So good!

I found the recipe for these tasty Chicken & Cheese Stuffed Shells from over at “Life in the Green House” . She did a good job on the recipe, so please refer to that. I really enjoyed this recipe, as it was so flavorful and pretty easy to make. I woke up Saturday morning, and lined a pan with tin foil (for easy clean up), then I baked a chicken breast with salt, pepper & Italian seasoning at 400 degrees F for 30-40 minutes until completely cooked. Then I let that cool and shredded it. I only needed about 4 oz of shredded chicken for this recipe, so I shredded the rest and put it in the freezer for a chicken quesadilla or to make this again another time.

Toasted cheese on top-mozzarella & parmesan

Toasted cheese on top-mozzarella & parmesan

Then I started preparing my filling and boiling the noodles. I put 3/4 cup mozzarella cheese in the filling and put only about a tsp of the oregano and basil in as they were dried herbs and can be about 3x more potent as fresh. ( I think next time I will try the whole Tbsp, as I dont think she used fresh herbs, and it could handle a bit more flavor) I also used only 1 egg white. I cooked mine in a smaller 9×9 pan and that seemed to work great, it made about 14 shells. I used Ragu Garden Combination pasta sauce to layer on the bottom and top of the stuffed shells. Also I had some left over shredded Parmesan cheese from another recipe, so I layered the top with a sprinkling of the part-skim mozzarella and Parmesan cheese.

I figure these to be 4 points each shell, so 1 serving=2 shells for 8 WW points.

Leave a comment