Grapefruit Power Food

I never thought I liked grapefruit, that is, until my husband bought some a while back. Then, I became interested in this strange citrus fruit he found so much joy in eating! So, he let me have a taste and it was great! I discovered I actually really like it! I also discovered the neatest way to prepare a grapefruit, which also leads to the neatest way to eat it. So, I thought I would share my method as it is different from the “cut in half, dump a load of sugar on it, & eat with a spoon” method.

DSC_0807

 

Use a cutting board and a serrated knife.

Florida's Ruby Red grapefruit

Florida’s Ruby Red grapefruit

Cut in half from end to end (from stem to stem).

Cut in half from end to end (from stem to stem).

Use your knife to "V" cut out the core & dig out the seeds (3-4 tan colored seeds, about the size of a large watermelon seed)

Use your knife to “V” cut out the core & dig out the seeds (3-4 tan colored seeds, about the size of a large watermelon seed)

Make a cut like this “/” on one side of the core, and a cut like this “\” on the other to make a “V” which cuts out the core strip. Then use your knife to dig out any seeds.

Cut the cored grapefruit half in half.

Cut the cored grapefruit half in half.

Then cut each half in half again.

Then cut each half in half again.

Each half makes 4 pieces.

Each half makes 4 pieces.

Then arrange on a little plate and sprinkle with 1/2 tsp of sugar if you plan on having 2 of these bad boys in a day. The reason being, 1 teaspoon of sugar is 0 WW points. Or you could use the whole teaspoon of sugar to sprinkle over them.

DSC_0810

 

Enjoy! You can then eat it like an orange slice. 0 WW points & a great Power Food for weight loss.

DSC_0809

 

 

Leave a Reply

