Valentine’s Day

For Valentine’s Day, my husband and I went to Zola’s New World Bistro in downtown, State College, PA. We had a great time!

My good looking date for the evening!

My good looking date for the evening!

Deep fried red snapper with sweet chili sauce, a tarter/mustard sauce, & soy sauce.

Deep fried red snapper with sweet chili sauce, a tarter/mustard sauce, & soy sauce.

Josh was kind enough to share some of his fish with me! It was fantastic! My favorite sauce was the tarter/mustard sauce! I must find a recipe for this so I can make some at home!

My schnazzy meal of salmon, spaghetti squash and cranberry couscous.

My schnazzy meal of salmon, spaghetti squash and cranberry couscous.

At home, I like to eat spaghetti squash with actual spaghetti meat sauce on top, so this was a fun way to have it served. The top of the spaghetti squash was crunchy, so it added a fun texture. This was my first time having couscous. I liked it, it is less grainy than quinoa, so I think I would like to make it. This also had whole fresh cranberries inside. And of course the amazing salmon.

I was quite proud of myself as I looked up the menu online ahead of time to find the most healthy option to stay with my Weight Watcher goals. In order to minimize my points so I could save them for some vanilla bean creme brulee (which I figured was 11 points for a half serving, typically 23 points for a whole serving!!!), I ordered the salmon without the chartreuse butter sauce, and I asked to have it baked instead. I found the item on the menu with the most 0 point or low point side options. The spaghetti squash was 0 points and the couscous was a small serving, so it was only about 3 points. By choosing this menu item, and opting for a healthier cooking method, I could save my points for what I felt was worth it-the dessert! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

